Thanks to the vision and generosity of many donors, Midland University offers a variety of scholarships with varied and diverse criteria. When you give to student scholarships at Midland University, you help offset the cost of education and open up opportunities for students who, due to financial pressures, would be unable to obtain an undergraduate degree. If you are interested in establishing a scholarship, please contact Laura Robinett, Vice President for Institutional Advancement, at 402-941-6523 or

Dr. Sylvesta Wassum Scholarship

Created out of the estate of Dr. Sylvesta Wassum, a 1937 Midland graduate and longtime music educator, this scholarship is to be awarded to worthy and deserving students.

June C. Watson Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship, established by her family and friends, honors June C. Watson who attended Midland from 1940-41 and served on the college Board of Trustees. She was a devoted worker in the Nebraska Synod and her church.

Jean M. Welstead Scholarship

The Jean M. Welstead Art scholarship shall be evenly divided to provide one scholarship in Art, one scholarship in Music for students who intend to major in said subjects. Said students selected shall be in good academic standing, preferably in the upper 25% of their class. Financial need can be considered, but not the only consideration. Scholarships are renewable providing the student has demonstrated outstanding ability with a continued intent to seek a major in said field.

Walter and Clara Weyers Endowment Scholarship

Established by their son, Wayne and Verna Weyers, to honor and memorialize the lives and achievements of Walter and Clara Weyers, this endowed scholarship is to be awarded to a Midland Lutheran College student(s) who exemplifies qualifying character, scholastic merit and financial need. Each student so awarded shall retain eligibility to receive this scholarship for a maximum of four years.

Jake Wiebold Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to Wahoo High School graduates who are participating in athletics.

Emily Elizabeth Wiegand Spirit Scholarship

A 2016 graduate of Midland University, the Emily Elizabeth Wiegand Spirit Scholarship was established by her family to provide opportunity and support to future Midland University Dance team members. The student should demonstrate a financial need and must be an active member of the dance team.

David Allen Wieser Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was created in memory of David, a former Midland student, through a gift from the estate of his mother, Roma R. Wieser. The scholarship is to be awarded annually to a student with demonstrated financial need and academic ability.

Harold E. Willey Trust Scholarship

Established by the trust in honor of Harold E. Willey of Mead, Nebraska, to provide one or more scholarships annually, the scholarships are awarded to deserving students of high academic achievement. Preference is given to students from Dodge or Saunders County, Nebraska, or from the State of Nebraska.

Leah L. Williams and Ada M. Williams Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship has been established by a Will in the form of a trust provided by Ada M. Williams to honor her sister, Leah, who was the treasurer at Midland for many years. The trust provides scholarships for deserving and worthy students.

David and Freda Wolf Scholarship

This scholarship was established by David and Freda Wolf, Pierce, Nebraska, and provides one or more scholarships annually. Recipients shall be worthy, deserving, of good and moral character and show promise of leadership and academic ability in their chosen field. The order of preference geographically shall be: 1) graduates of Pierce High School, 2) graduates of high schools in Pierce County, and 3) needy and eligible students from any accredited high school.

Lorin J. and Merlyn E. Wolff Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to students who are deemed worthy and are in need of scholarship assistance. First preference shall be given to students pursuing careers in teaching, nursing or the work of the church.

Women of Midland Scholarship

The Women of Midland Scholarship Fund was created to celebrate 140 years of women at Midland University. Through this scholarship fund, the hope is to inspire and support the next generation of women at Midland by supporting traditional or non-traditional female students of Midland University's undergraduate programs.

Ted Youngerman Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 2002 by family and friends following Ted's passing. The scholarship is to be awarded to a senior pre-theological student in good standing.

Dennis & Ardes Zakovec Nursing Scholarship

The scholarship shall be awarded annually to a student with solid academic background who has demonstrated strong moral character, leadership, and a commitment to the nursing profession.

William F. and Meta Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship was established by William F. and Meta Zimmerman out of gratitude to God. It is to be awarded annually to a minority student.