Thanks to the vision and generosity of many donors, Midland University offers a variety of scholarships with varied and diverse criteria. When you give to student scholarships at Midland University, you help offset the cost of education and open up opportunities for students who, due to financial pressures, would be unable to obtain an undergraduate degree. If you are interested in establishing a scholarship, please contact Laura Jensen, Vice President for Institutional Advancement, at 402-941-6523 or

Lutheran Church of Our Redeemer Endowment Scholarship

Created from a generous gift by the congregation of the Lutheran Church of Our Redeemer, this fund awards a scholarship(s) each year to a deserving student(s) who is from Omaha or, if unavailable, from Eastern Nebraska, holds a junior status or above and is majoring in a ministry related field. This scholarship was established out of gratitude for God's blessings and from a desire to provide lasting assistance for students attending Midland University. This endowed scholarship was initiated with a $10,000 gift.

Oscar Lyders Music Scholarship

This fund was established by former choir members to honor Dr. Oscar Lyders for the great contributions he made to the life and work of Midland. One or more scholarships each year shall be awarded to undergraduate students majoring in vocal music. Awards may be repeated. Any student majoring in vocal music may apply for this scholarship.

Bessie Lyzhoft Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded in memory of Bessie Lyzhoft, a member of the 1919 commercial class at Fremont Normal College, to a worthy and deserving student.

Louis E. May Scholarship

This fund was established to perpetuate the memory of Louis E. May and provides scholarships to students from Fremont with financial need.

Jim McMahon Memorial Grant Fund

The Jim McMahon Memorial Grant Fund was established by the McMahon Family to honor of Coach Jim McMahon, who was a track and cross country coach at Midland for nearly 40 years. Recipients of this scholarship are recommended by the track and cross country coaches and/or the athletic director, have high financial need, good character, and are in good standing with the athletic program and the university. Scholarships are renewable annually.

McMillan/Nelson Scholarship

This scholarship, created by Burton and Joan McMillan, shall be awarded to students of good academic standing with financial need.

Christof Meyer Memorial Scholarship

Established in 1989 in memory of Christof Meyer, this scholarship is given annually to a student with academic ability who is physically handicapped. In the event that no physically handicapped student applies for consideration, the scholarship may be given to a student with financial need from the Fremont-Hooper area.

Lawrence H. and Anona Meyer Scholarship

This scholarship shall be awarded annually to worthy and deserving students who are pursuing a career in the field of medicine.

James W. Miller Scholarship

This fund was established in honor of James W. Miller to aid pre-law students.

Thomas and Della Lacy/Cy and Thelma Miller Scholarship

This fund was established by Mr. and Mrs. Cy Miller to provide assistance to a pre-theological student and a nursing student each year.

Vern Milligan Scholarship

Established by a Fremont native, Vern Milligan, this scholarship awards grants to students based on financial need.

J. Dale and Marion K. Milliken Memorial Scholarship

Created by their family and friends, this scholarship is awarded annually in memory of J. Dale and Marion K. Milliken, Fremont community leaders and college friends. The scholarship is awarded to a student who has maintained the required grade point average and who has financial need.

John Mkenda Scholarship

The John Mkenda Scholarship was established in 2018 by Midland Alumni Alex (’64) and Marlys (’64) Meyer in honor of John Mkenda. John, of Marangu, Tanzania, attended Midland on scholarship, graduating with a degree in business in 1965. John returned to Tanzania as one of less than a hundred college graduates in the country. John lived his life in service and dedication to the Church and his country. Midland awarded John with a Doctor of Law degree in 2002 honoring his dedication of service. The John Mkenda scholarship is awarded to international students of good academic standing with an encouragement to use their education in service to the church and their community. Preference is given to international students and students with financial need.

Moeser Education Scholarship

The Moeser Education Scholarship is awarded to a Midland student who is majoring in Education and has a minimum 3.0 GPA. The scholarship is intended to encourage students to go into and remain in the education profession at the PK-12 level. The recipient of the scholarship will be recommended by the Midland education faculty and shall have completed at least one successful semester of academic work at Midland before being named the recipient. 

Dave and Sheila Monke Family Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 2022 by Dave and Sheila Monke, a third generation Monke scholarship at Midland University. This perpetual scholarship should be awarded annually to a student(s) majoring in Special Education or Applied Behavior Analysis.

Henry and Lena Monke Scholarship

The Henry and Lena Monke Memorial Scholarship Fund was established by the late Luther Monke to perpetually honor his parents. The fund provides annual scholarships. Preference is given to Lutheran students living in the general area served by Midland.

William and Helen Monke Scholarship

Created by Bill and Helen Monke, this annual scholarship provides assistance to students in good academic standing with financial need. First preference is given to Lutheran students who come from rural, farming communities within the state of Nebraska.

Mortensen Family Scholarship

Given by family members, the Mortensen Scholarship recalls the contribution that the family of Ana and George Mortensen has made to the life of the college. The scholarship gives preference to married students intending to enter the ministry. Others interested in church or human service professions may qualify for the award.

Merlin Mortinson Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to students with a 3.0 or above GPA and who demonstrate financial need.

Harry and Bernice Mapes Moyer Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded annually to students pursuing a career in education. The award is made to students with personal integrity, academic ability and financial need.

Musbach Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship fund was originally established as part of the bequest of Amos Musbach to provide assistance to worthy students interested in becoming pastors, doctors or nurses. Mindful of Amos Musbach’s devotion to the Scribner/Snyder communities, at least one scholarship is to be awarded annually to a worthy youth from the Scribner/Snyder area, provided one is eligible. Others may be awarded as well. An advisory committee screens and makes recommendations to the scholarship committee for the Scribner/Snyder area recipient. 

Gerald D. Myers Scholarship

Established by the family and friends of Jerry Myers to honor his lifetime commitment to Fremont. The scholarship is awarded to students from Dodge County majoring in one of the liberal arts majors offered by Midland. The scholarship is not renewable.

Navarrette Family Scholarship

The Navarrette Family Scholarship was established in 2018 by Midland Alumni Steve and Julie Navarrette. This scholarship is awarded to students pursuing a degree in the Dunklau School of Business in good academic standing. First preference is given to students from the urban core of Omaha.

Carl O. and Edith Nelson Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to students with a 3.0 GPA and financial need.

Gene Nelson Endowed Music Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a music student.